Susan McDaniel is the Dr. Laurie Sands distinguished professor of families and health, director of the Institute for the Family in the department of psychiatry, associate chair of the department of family medicine, and director of the Patient- and Family-Centered Care Physician Coaching Program at the University of Rochester Medical Center in New York, where she has been since beginning her career in 1980.

Her career has been dedicated to integrating mental/behavioral health into health care. McDaniel is the author of over 100 journal articles, most recently "Physicians criticizing physicians to patients" in the Journal of General Internal Medicine (2013). With family physician, Frank deGruy, MD, she developed and co-edited the 2014 May-June special issue of the American Psychologist® on "Primary Care and Psychology." She was co-editor of Families, Systems & Health for 12 years, and is an associate editor of the American Psychologist for six years. McDaniel is also the author of 15 books translated into eight languages. Her latest books include "Medical Family Therapy and Integrated Care, 2nd Edition," published in 2013, and "Psychosomatic Medicine" in 2014, co-authored with a German psychologist and German physician for the international market.  

At APA, McDaniel has served as president of Div. 43 (Society of Family Psychology) chair of the Publications & Communication Board and member of the Committee for the Advancement of Professional Psychology. She is also a member of the New York State Psychological Association. McDaniel has received many awards, including the American Psychological Foundation/Cummings PSYCHE Prize in 2007, the Donald Bloch, MD, Award for Outstanding Contributions to Collaborative Care in 2009, the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Recognition Award in 2011, the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award for Mentoring in 2012, Distinguished Contributions to Health Psychology in 2013, Distinguished Leadership on behalf of Women in Psychology (from the Committee on Women in Psychology to the founding members of the Leadership Institute for Women in Psychology) in 2013, the Distinguished Contribution to Family Psychology Award in 2015 and the Committee of Early Career Psychologists Award of Appreciation in 2015.